HFAM Announces 2024 AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Recipients

The Health Facilities Association of Maryland (HFAM) is pleased to announce that three members have earned an American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) 2024 National Quality Award. The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program recognizes providers across the nation that have demonstrated high quality outcomes for staff, patients, and residents in long-term care and post-acute care.

The Bronze Award honorees are:
FutureCare Chesapeake in Arnold, MD
The Terraces at Tuckerman Lane in North Bethesda, MD

The Silver Award honoree is:
Landow House and Cohen-Rosen House in Rockville, MD

“We are immensely proud of our members who have earned a 2024 National Quality Award,” said Joseph DeMattos, HFAM President and CEO. “This accolade reflects their commitment to exceptional care and continuous improvement. The dedication and hard work of our long-term and post-acute care providers truly make a difference in the lives of our residents, patients, and staff.”

The National Quality Award Program has three progressive levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. The Bronze Award level provides organizations with the tools and resources they need for continuous improvement in quality care. At the Silver Award level, recipients have met the criteria for the Bronze Award and continue to develop effective approaches that help improve performance and health care outcomes. Gold Award winners have met both Bronze and Silver criteria and must show superior performance in areas of leadership, strategic planning, and customer and staff satisfaction.

“This accomplishment not only reflects positively on each organization but also serves as an inspiring example to other providers within our state and across the nation,” added DeMattos. “We at HFAM are proud to count these three providers as members and look forward to celebrating their continued success.”

A list of all 2024 recipients is available on the AHCA/NCAL Quality Award website.  The National Quality Awards will be presented during Delivering Solutions 24, the AHCA/NCAL Convention & Expo, October 6-9, 2024, in Orlando, Florida. ​

The 2024 National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: PharMerica, Prevail by First Quality, SnapCare, HealthCap, and MatrixCare.

About HFAM

Founded in 1948, HFAM is the oldest long-term and post-acute care association in Maryland. HFAM is affiliated with the American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL), the largest long-term care provider association in the United States. HFAM members offer assisted living, post-acute, rehabilitation, long-term care, and ancillary services. Skilled nursing members provide nearly 3 million days of care across all payer sources annually, including approximately 2 million days of Medicaid care. For more information, please visit www.hfam.org.


The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represents more than 14,000 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers, and homes for individuals with intellectual and development disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit www.ahcancal.org.