Matt Gallo of Gallo Vineyards Elected 2024-25 Wine Institute Chairman

New Officers and Board Directors Named

SACRAMENTO, Calif.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Matt Gallo, vice president and general manager of Gallo Vineyards, Inc., headquartered in Modesto, was elected Wine Institute Board chairman for the 2024-25 fiscal year at the organization’s 90th Annual Membership and Board of Directors Meeting in Lodi, June 9-11, 2024.

Other officers elected were Robin Baggett of Alpha Omega Winery in St. Helena and Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo, first vice chairman; Gretchen Roddick of Hope Family Wines in Paso Robles, second vice chairman; Ben Dollard of Treasury Wine Estates America, treasurer; and Ed Matovcik of Constellation Brands, secretary. Robert P. Koch is president and CEO of Wine Institute.

Randall Lange, co-founder of LangeTwins Family Winery and Vineyards, is the outgoing chairman and becomes an ex-officio board member.

“I look forward to working with Wine Institute leadership to build on our successes in policy, advocacy and sustainability, and to increase awareness of the positive impact of our sector to ensure the California wine community continues to thrive,” said Matt Gallo.

At Gallo Vineyards Inc., Matt manages vineyard holdings, grape growing, acquisitions and development of future estate vineyards and strengthening the capabilities of the winemaking facilities to give the team the best possible tools for making world-class wines. As a third-generation family member, he has held a variety of positions within the organization, including in Coastal Operations and Premium Winemaking. He carries the family philosophy of never being satisfied and always seeking to make better wine.

“Wine Institute and our more than 1,000 members will be well served by Matt’s leadership and vision,” said Koch. “Matt and the Gallo family have been at the leading edge of sustainability and California’s wine community for generations. Matt’s dedication and experience will be true assets that will help guide us.”

Wine Institute’s membership also elected new district and at-large directors and their alternates. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-winery, one-vote basis in each district.


2024-2025 District Directors
Kaj Ahlmann, Six Sigma Winery
John C. Kane, Bonterra Organic Estates

Steve MacRostie, MacRostie Winery & Vineyards
Julie Pedroncelli St. John, Pedroncelli Winery
Katie Wetzel Murphy, Alexander Valley Vineyards
Alan Ramey, Ramey Wine Cellars
Louis M. Foppiano, Foppiano Winery
Tobin Ginter, Rodney Strong Vineyards
Christopher Lloyd Strieter, Senses Wines

Pam Starr, Crocker & Starr Winery
Anthony Truchard, Truchard Vineyards
Robin Baggett, Alpha Omega
Alan Viader, VIADER Vineyards and Winery
Michael Reynolds, HALL Wines
Kellie Duckhorn, Baldacci Family Vineyards
Christopher Hall, Long Meadow Ranch Winery
Karen Fontanella, Fontanella Family Winery
Darioush Khaledi, Darioush
Paul Woolls, Progeny Winery

San Francisco Bay
Christine Wente, Wente Family Estates
Bill Cooper, Cooper-Garrod Estate Vineyards

Monterey Bay
Scott Scheid, Scheid Vineyards

Central Coast
Clarence Chia, JUSTIN Vineyards & Winery
Gretchen Roddick, Hope Family Wines
Nicholas Miller, Miller Family Wine Company
Caine Thompson, Robert Hall Winery

Phil Baily, Baily Winery
Stephen Kahle, Woof‘n Rose Winery

Steven Millier, Milliaire Winery

Northern Interior
David Phillips, Michael David Winery
Marissa Lange, LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery

Southern Interior
John Allbaugh, Bronco Wine Company
Kyle W. Ray, ASV Wine

All members elected 20 at-large directors who had been nominated by the Institute’s Finance and Administration Committee.

2024-2025 At-Large Directors
Ryan Bogle, Bogle Family Wine Collection
Alternate: Warren Bogle, Bogle Family Wine Collection

Caroline Coleman Bailey, GALLO
Alternate: Maribel Delgado, GALLO

Matt McHargue, Constellation Brands
Alternate: Sam Glaetzer, Constellation Brands

Ben Dollard, Treasury Wine Estates
Alternate: Ben Duemler, Treasury Wine Estates

Debra Dommen, Treasury Wine Estates
Alternate: Jane Froyd, Treasury Wine Estates

Jennifer Evans, The Wine Group
Alternate: Keith Bauman, The Wine Group

Matt Gallo, Gallo Vineyards, Inc.
Alternate: Stephanie Gallo, GALLO

Amy Hoopes, The Wine Group
Alternate: Jeannie Bremmer, The Wine Group

Cheryl Indelicato, Delicato Family Wines
Alternate: Mark Merrion, Delicato Family Wines

Katie Jackson, Jackson Family Wines
Alternate: Vacant

Peter Larson, Trinchero Family Estates
Alternate: Roger J. Trinchero, Trinchero Family Estates

Daniel Leonard, Bronco Wine Company
Alternate: Chris Mifsud, Bronco Wine Company

Lawrence Lohr, J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines
Alternate: Jeff Humphreys, J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

Deidre Mahlan, The Duckhorn Portfolio
Alternate: Sean Sullivan, The Duckhorn Portfolio

Ed Matovcik, Constellation Brands
Alternate: Tiffanie De Liberty, Constellation Brands

Viviann Stapp, Jackson Family Wines
Alternate: Carolyn Wasem, Jackson Family Wines

Robert Torkelson, Trinchero Family Estates
Alternate: Anthony Torres, Trinchero Family Estates

Matthew Towers, O’Neill Vintners & Distillers
Alternate: Anuj Girdhar, O’Neill Vintners & Distillers

Jolene Yee, Delicato Family Wines
Alternate: Corey Beck, Delicato Family Wines

About Wine Institute

Established in 1934, Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy group of more than 1,000 California wineries and affiliated businesses that initiates and advocates state, federal and international public policy to enhance the environment for the responsible production, consumption and enjoyment of wine. The organization works to protect the economic and environmental health of the state through its leadership in sustainable winegrowing.