National Science Teaching Association Appoints New Members to its Board

MCLEAN, Va.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The National Science Teaching Association, the largest professional organization in the world seeking to transform science education to benefit all through professional learning, partnerships, and advocacy, welcomed five new members to its Board of Directors and seven new members to its Council. 

“I welcome and appreciate these dedicated and enthusiastic educators who will give so generously of their time to help NSTA carry out its mission,” said Erika Shugart, Ph.D., CEO, NSTA. “Their diverse backgrounds and expertise will enhance their efforts to serve their NSTA colleagues.”

The new board members join a 13-member board that oversees NSTA’s finances, policies and procedures, and strategic planning. New board members include

  • Beverly DeVore-Wedding, NSTA President-Elect
    Virtual Science Instructor, Mathematics and Science Department, Nebraska Indian Community College, Macy, Nebraska
  • Anne Lowry, NSTA Division Director, Early Childhood-Elementary Science Teaching
    Lead Teacher PreK ClassAleph Academy, Reno, Nevada
  • Carrie Jones, NSTA Division Director, Middle Level Science Teaching
    Eighth-Grade Science Teacher, Dillard Drive Magnet Middle School, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Karen Hays, NSTA Division Director, Informal Science
    School and Teacher Partnerships Manager, Denver Zoo, Denver, Colorado
  • Jesse Wilcox, NSTA Division Director, Professional Learning in Science Education
    Assistant Professor of Biology and Science Education, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa

The council is comprised of 18 district directors, and each member is the official representative of NSTA in their geographic district and serves as the primary liaison on issues of importance to science and improvement of science education at all levels. The council functions as the advisory body to the board of directors.

By June 2025, the council will transition into a new governance body called the Leadership Council, which will be composed of the District and Division Directors. The role of the Leadership Council will be to build community, establish and nurture partnerships, and oversee position statements. New District Directors include

  • Taylor Moon, NSTA District II Director (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont)
    Science Faculty, The Derryfield School, Concord, New Hampshire
  • Andrew Walton, NSTA District IV Director (Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey)
    Teacher, Upper Moreland High School, Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
  • Brian Gardiner, NSTA District V Director (Florida, Georgia, Alabama)
    Teacher, Kittredge Magnet School for High Achievers, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Amanda Huff, NSTA District VIII Director (Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia)
    Seventh-Grade Teacher, Christian County Middle School, Hopkinsville, Kentucky
  • Carla Neely, NSTA District X Director (Indiana, Michigan, Ohio)
    Middle School Science Teacher, Warrensville Heights Middle School, Warrensville Heights, Ohio
  • Emily Meyer, NSTA District XIV Director (Arizona, Colorado, Utah)
    Teacher and Biology Content Leader, Thunder Ridge High School, Littleton, Colorado
  • Mia-Pia Cummins-VanHerreweghe, NSTA District XVI Director (California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Guam, Territory of the Pacific Islands)
    Seventh-Grade Science Teacher, Konawaena Middle School, Captain Cook, Hawaii

For a complete listing of the NSTA Board of Directors and Council, please visit

About NSTA

The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is a vibrant community of 35,000 science educators and professionals committed to best practices in teaching science and its impact on student learning. NSTA offers high-quality science resources and continuous learning so that science educators can grow professionally and excel in their careers. For new and experienced teachers alike, the NSTA community offers the opportunity to network with like-minded peers at the national level, connect with mentors and leading researchers, and learn from the best in the field. For more information, visit, or follow NSTA on X, formerly known as Twitter; FacebookInstagramYouTube; and LinkedIn.